top of page
Search

What is it about the adventure?

I am constantly trying to pin down exactly what it is I love about adventures so much. In reality I think it’s a combination of factors. But I often think the power of adventures no matter how big or small are often overlooked or underestimated.

It’s ironic; the nature of adventures draws so many parallels with day-to-day life, experiences and challenges. An adventure in whatever form, no matter how big or small, whether it be a race, event or experience, can have a significant lasting impact on you. The journey of an adventure has the ability to enable you the discover a depth of fortitude, resilience and endurance within yourself that you never imagined existed. An adventure combines the epic highs and lows of excitement, exploration and beautiful landscapes; alongside having to overcome various mishaps, challenging terrain, exposure to the unpredictable elements, and fatigue. It’s the ultimate feat of endurance, and fills you with the elation of achievement that you can only really comprehend if you have been there. These adventures shape you and provide you with incredibly valuable experiences and tools which have the versatility to be applied to work through the various challenges and hardships that we face through our lives.

Through my adventures I have gained a level confidence, resilience and self-belief which has equipped me with the strength to climb over a series of obstacles through life. This in turn has enabled me to gain a whole new perspective and transform my approach to life and its experiences. I guess the most noteworthy of revelations I have gained from this is the power of a positive mindset and gratitude. This mindset has allowed me to surround myself with truly inspirational people, many of whom I am lucky enough to call my friends; and it has also opened up a whole host of incredible opportunities. I’m often told how much I smile. It’s funny how adventures, whether they be in form of events, races or expeditions; but particularly for me, those riding bikes, have a tendency to make you grin like a Cheshire cat! The act of smiling actually stimulates neural messaging in the brain that benefits your health and happiness. There is also something else pretty special about smiling….and this is the best bit; smiling really is contagious, and it has the tendency to make other people smile. In actual fact its scientifically proven that seeing someone smile stimulates our mirror neurones to suppress our facial muscle control, and trigger a smile! So when I smile I get to see lots of smiley faces back. Now that is pretty cool right?

I love to be inspired by, and learn from amazing humans; and those I follow who have achieved incredible things. I’m often neck deep in various amazing podcasts, books, videos, and social media posts documenting various fascinating adventures. Equally I get great pleasure in sharing what I have learnt with others, and supporting people in helping them realise and access what they have been capable of all along. In recent years I have certainly found that things don’t always go to plan, but it’s important to accept that this is part of the journey to success; and if you keep focused and determined some amazing things will come your way. I am a firm believer in the fact you create your own luck.

So, if you have been feeling apprehensive about doing that trip, race or event; now’s the time to go for it. You’ll be amazed to find that the smallest of steps towards your goal, can be the start of the biggest and most epic of adventures!






117 views0 comments

Photo Credit: Kerry MacPhee (one of those amazing humans I mention above!)
Tour de Ben Nevis, Scotland

bottom of page